Weekly Gaming News Round-up

So. Many. New. Games. My backlog is growing exponentially with so much great stuff to play. Here are some of the highlights in another stellar week for new releases:

Far Cry 6

  • 7th October 2021 (PC, Xbox Series X and S, Xbox One, PS4, PS5)

It’s back. Set in the fictional Caribbean island Yara (loosely based on Cuba), players take on Dictator Antón Castillo’s (Giancarlo Esposito) brutal regime with gripping FPS combat in the midst of a revolution. While some critics think the franchise has become tired and repetitive, there’s been a lot of buzz around this new entry, garnering a respectable score between 70 and 80 on Metacritic across platforms.

Alan Wake Remastered

  • 5th October 2021 (PC, Xbox Series X and S, PS4, PS5)

The cult classic is back, with a shiny new lick of paint and now available to PlayStation owners for the first time. Desperately searching for his missing wife, Alice, Wake delves into the supernatural mysteries of the Pacific Northwest town, Bright Falls. Big Twin Peak vibes.

Animal Crossing Direct

After teasing us with the prospect of an Animal Crossing Direct, Nintendo have confirmed that the show will air on 15th October at 7am PT / 10am ET / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST. The 20-minute livestream is rumoured to confirm the return of Brewster and his cafe, The Roost.

Kingdom Hearts coming to Switch

  • Release Date TBC

Not content with the reveal of Sora in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, Nintendo announced that three Kingdom Hearts games are making their way to the Switch. Kingdom Hearts – HD 1.5 + 2.5 ReMix, Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue and Kingdom Hearts III will be available on the platform, however, only in cloud version. This means those without a quick, reliable internet connection might not be able to enjoy them.


Have you picked up anything new this week? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap